Lokpal search panel formed, it will frame its own rules of functioning, govt tells SC -Krishnadas Rajagopal

-The Hindu

SC orders govt to file affidavit detailing steps so far taken in Lokpal appointment process

New Delhi:
The government informed the Supreme Court on Friday that a eight-member search committee has been constituted in September 2018 for zeroing in on eligible candidates for Lokpal and the anti-corruption authority will frame its own rules of functioning. The panel is led by former Supreme Court judge, Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai.

On September 27, the Department of Personnel and Training issued a notification listing the names of the committee members. They are, retired Allahabad High Court judge Justice S.R. Singh Yadav, former Solicitor General Ranjit Kumar, former State Bank of India chairperson Arundhati Bhattacharya, IAS officer Dr. Lalit K. Panwar, former IPS officer S.S. Khandwawala, Prasar Bharati chairperson A. Surya Prakash, former ISRO chairman Dr. A.S. Kiran Kumar.

A Bench, led by Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi, ordered Attorney General K.K. Venugopal to file an affidavit detailing the steps taken so far in the search for Lokpal.

"We request the Attorney General to ensure the steps taken till today is brought on record," Chief Justice Gogoi observed in the order.

When Mr. Venugopal offered to pass on to the court a "note" detailing the steps taken, Chief Justice Gogoi insisted that the Centre should filed a sworn affidavit.

Please click here to read more.

The Hindu, 4 January, 2019, https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/lokpal-search-committee-constituted-will-frame-their-own-rules-of-functioning-govt-to-sc/article25908515.ece?fbclid=IwAR3v-J6GgxaZx3O

Related Articles


Write Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Video Archives


share on Facebook
Read Later