Only 5 states have rolled out new MV Act -Dipak K Dash

-The Times of India

NEW DELHI: Only five states — Gujarat, Uttarakhand, Kerala, Karnataka and Assam — have implemented the amended Motor Vehicles Act nearly five weeks after the Centre notified the new law.

Sources said some state transport departments have forwarded the proposal with revised fines to the respective governments for early notification. “The proposed notification specifying the fines and penalties needs approval of the government. We have suggested fixing the quantum of fine and penalties for specific offences, which is allowed in the Act. We are not tweaking penalties and fines relating to offences that are not compoundable,” said a Rajasthan government official.

Compoundable offences are those where violators can pay the fine on the spot to a designated officer from the traffic police or transport department and do not need to visit court.

Please click here to read more.

The Times of India, 7 October, 2019,

Related Articles


Write Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Video Archives


share on Facebook
Read Later