Eight journalists from all over India have been selected for the 2011 Inclusive Media Fellowships of the Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (CSDS). One of the fellowships is supported by the ASER Centre of the Education NGO, Pratham, a pioneer in quality of education in Indian schools. The Inclusive Media Project also conducts media research and runs a unique resource centre,, on India’s rural crises. The recipients of the 2011 fellowships include three women reporters. In the best tradition of investigative and meaningful journalism, the fellows will spend time with rural communities to bring out their issues and anxieties for public and policy intervention.   

A fellowship Jury comprising Mr Aniruddha Bahal, investigative journalist and Editor-in-Chief Cobrapost, Ms Seema Chishti, Columnist and Senior Editor, Indian Express, Mr. Nikhil Dey, Convenor National Campaign for Peoples’ Right to Information (NCPRI), Urmilesh, Executive Editor, Rajya Sabha TV, and Professor Yogendra Yadav, of the CSDS, selected the media fellows after a meticulous process. The fellowship jury assessed the candidates on the basis of criteria that included the relevance of their project proposals for rural livelihoods, the clarity, depth and innovativeness of the project and story ideas, candidates’ grasp of the subject, writing and analytical skills, among others. The selected candidates and their newspapers are also being notified individually.

The list of the 2011 Inclusive Media Fellows is as follows:

Abu Zafar, to write for the IANS, (project on the state of primary education, particularly of the girl child, in the schools and madarsas of Azamgarh district of UP); Anupam Trivedi of Hindustan Times, Dehradun, (Project on distress migration within India and abroad from Uttarakhand Hills); Baba Mayaram of Chhattisgarh Post (Project on high input farming and agrarian distress in Hoshangabad and Harda district of Madhya Pradesh);  Panini Anand, to write for Rajashtan Patrika (Project on dalit mass movements for social justice in Baran, Alwar, Seekar, Bhilwara and Barmer districts of Rajasthan); Sangeeta Barua Pisharotty to write for the Hindu (project on loss of livelihoods of the indigenous people of Majuli island in Assam due to shrinking land mass); Purushottam Singh Thakur to write for the Pioneer Bhubaneshwar, (project on the rural crises caused by land acquisition in Bolangir and Sambhalpur regions of Orissa); Nivedita Khandekar to write for HT Delhi (Project on the crises of health and environment related problems of the remote hilly regions of Lohit and Anjaw in Arunachal Pradesh); and Ratna Bharali Talukdar, to write for the Eastern Panorama (Project on the impact of the recent earthquake on human lives and ecology in Sikkim and the indigenous coping mechanisms of the native people)  

The Inclusive Media Fellowships are designed to encourage individual media persons to deeply interact with rural communities of this vast country to understand and write about their issues and, in the long-run, specialize on aspects of India’s rural crises. One of the main objectives of the Inclusive Media Project is to increase and sharpen the understanding about rural India’s multiple crises in the mainstream media.

Issued by Inclusive Media for Change, CSDS, 29, Rajpur Road, Delhi 11 00 54. Phones: 2398 1012/ 23942199. Website:  

Related Articles


Write Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Video Archives


share on facebook
Read Later